The Gray Mage is now available!

It’s here! And the paperback JUST went live just in time despite a mysterious error I kept getting with Amazon’s system over the weekend.

The advance reviews of The Gray Mage have been too sweet, and several people have already said that this book is their favorite in the series so far!

With that said, no pressure when I write book #4 then, I guess, right?

I’m hosting a giveaway (US only, sorry) for signed paperbacks of The Starless Girl and The Storm King, and there’s only a few hours left. Two lucky people will win. Enter here: 

Are you team Light or team Shadow?

With The Gray Mage dropping August 31, I’m wondering…

Are you team Light, or team Shadow?

Comment on this blog post and let me know. 🤍🖤🤍🖤🤍🖤

I’m all about opposites and contrast. So the magic in the Realm of Camellia is too. Light magic is visible, Shadow magic is invisible. Light magic is solid, and you can touch it. Shadow magic is intangible.

If you could choose, which would you rather have?

Light magic allows you to create anything you can think of, summoning a solid object made of Light, that can be used for anything (tools, weapons, clothing, anything depending on your skill to imagine it).

Shadow magic can be almost anything that’s not visible/tangible. Moving things with wind, controlling the weather, plants, etc. This one has a lot of possibilities too.

Helen Scheuerer spills the tea on A Lair of Bones

Today I’ve got some fun book news to share with you, as Helen Scheuerer stops by to spill the tea on her new fantasy release, A Lair of Bones.

Ok, Helen spill it!

It’s been two years since my first series, The Oremere Chronicles wrapped up and so I’m over the moon to at last share the first book in a brand new adventure, A Lair of Bones (July 15th, 2021). This YA fantasy follows the story of Roh, a young cyren of the deep whose ambition knows no bounds. From the moment she was born, Roh, the daughter of an infamous criminal, has been despised by her own kind. Restricted to the Lower Sector and forced to work as a common bone cleaner, she has always believed she belongs above: where lies adventure… and power.

Opportunity arises in the form of the Queen’s Tournament, a treacherous set of trials that could see the victor crowned ruler of the entire lair. Cunning, chaos and magic ensue and Roh is thrown into a dangerous world she hardly recognises.

If you like morally grey heroines, action-packed plots and a cast of unruly characters, then A Lair of Bones is for you.

How about some tea?

I love an English breakfast tea first thing in the morning, and a peppermint tea after lunch. There’s definitely a scene with tea featured in A Lair of Bones… I’m pretty sure the main character has a cup of peppermint tea to calm down after a traumatic event…

Check out the author and book on…

Website * Instagram * Facebook * Twitter

E.J. Kitchens Spills the Tea on The King’s Spell

Today I’ve got some fun book news to share with you, as E.J. Kitchens stops by to spill the tea on her new fantasy release, The King’s Spell.

Ok, E.J., spill it!

Magic, mystery, manners, and mischief–I love a good combination of these and so put all of them into my new release, The King’s Spell. It’s a “Jane Austen romance meets fantasy adventure” story with a cursed half-magic and a mischievous enchantress who must work together to save king and kingdom.

How about some tea?

A friend gave me tea from Norway–it is beautiful (with dried blue, red, and yellow flowers) and smells amazing, and tastes good! There are several important scenes with tea. Meredith does get to taste chai tea before disaster strikes one tea party.

Check out the book, and follow E.J. Kitchens on:

Website * Instagram * Facebook

J.D.L. Rosell spills the tea on The Throne of Ice and Ash

Today I’ve got some fun book news to share with you, as J.D.L. Rosell stops by to spill the tea on his new fantasy release, The Throne of Ice and Ash, book one in The Runewar Saga.

Ok, J.D.L, spill it!

Hey folks! I have a new first book in a series out today — which is actually a heavily revised version of the first novel I ever wrote! The Throne of Ice and Ash is an epic fantasy with a lot my favorite things from the genre: big military conflicts, tons of political intrigue, and huge character trauma and growth. It’s inspired by Norse mythology and may, with some accuracy, be considered “Game of Thrones between Vikings and Egyptians.” This book begins my grandest epic to date, and I hope you’ll join me in beginning the journey!

How about some tea?

“Tea? What’s tea? Pass the ale or mead!” – probably one of the characters in Throne

Check out the book, and follow J.D.L. on:

Website * Instagram * Facebook

Tourmaline & Quartz Publishing

I have been sitting on this news for a little while because I was waiting for all the paperwork to go through!

Here goes.

I have established an LLC for my publishing business, Tourmaline & Quartz Publishing! I picked the name for two of my favorite gemstones which are black and clear (white) representing contrasts but also words on the page. Tourmaline is said to repel negative energy, and quartz embodies power.

What does this mean for me?

Not much will change for me immediately, as I’m still learning how to parent two entire human beings while balancing my various publishing projects, but this is the start of a big upgrade.

I’ll be publishing my books going forward under my new publishing house, but I’m also looking to expand in the future to publish works by other authors, which is huge, exciting, and a little scary! My focus will be fantasy and sci-fi, and I’m looking forward to considering calls for anthologies as well.

Additionally, all of my editing and formatting clients will now be served under the umbrella of the company.

This is a really exciting step in my publishing career, and I appreciate everyone who has been there for me during this journey. I’ve learned a lot and can’t wait to grow some more. If you want to follow the publishing journey, subscribe over on my new website! www.TourmalineandQuartzPublishing.com

Mikhaeyla Kopievsky spills the tea on the Divided Elements series

Today I’ve got some fun book news to share with you, as Mikhaeyla Kopievsky stops by to spill the tea on her speculative fiction series price drop on Resistance, and Rebellion, books 1 and 2 in the Divided Elements series.

OK Mikhaeyla, spill it!

With the anticipated release of the third and final book in my dystopian Divided Elements series (coming in July and now available to pre-order), I’ve dropped the price of the first two books in the series to just $2.99. You can also read the origin novella for free with your Kindle Unlimited account or by signing up for my newsletter here. The Divided Elements books will appeal to readers of Divergent, Brave New World, Red Rising, Fahrenheit 451, and We.

Set in a future, dystopian Paris where the population is divided and aligned to four neural-social classes, the story follows Anaiya – a Peacekeeper who is realigned and sent to infiltrate a growing rebellion that threatens the city’s golden age. But as she gets closer to fulfilling her mission, her loyalties are tested by the growing connections she forms with the core resistance movement and the fractures appearing in her mind…

How about some tea?

In the world of Divided Elements, there is nothing organic–everything is synthetic and engineered for maximum efficiency. That doesn’t mean, however, the citizens aren’t enjoying themselves. This world is a golden age of entertainment and excess, full of digital distractions and synth indulgences. Anaiya and her fellow Peacekeepers are notorious for hitting up the izakayas at the end of a shift – if Long Island Iced Teas were around, I’m sure they would be a favourite!

Check out the books, and follow Mikhaeyla on:

Website * Twitter * Instagram * Facebook

Eileen Mueller spills the tea on Anakisha’s Dragon

Today I have some fun book news for you, as Eileen Mueller stops by to spill the tea on her new fantasy release, Anakisha’s Dragon, book one in the Riders of Fire Dragon Masters series.

OK Eileen, spill it!

My fans loved my award-winning, bestselling Riders of Fire series so much that they begged me for more adventures in Dragons’ Realm.

Anakisha’s Dragon is the first book in my Riders of Fire Dragon Masters series. I’m taking my readers back in time so they can see how Commander Zens, the power-hungry geneticist who created an army of monstrous tharuks, came through the world gate to Dragons’ Realm.

We’ll uncover the secrets of many familiar characters — Dragon Mage Giddi, Spymaster Tonio, Healer Marlies and Hans, the rider of the bronze dragon, Handel. You’ll also witness the rise of the Scarlet Hand, a notorious pirate who rules the Naobian Sea.

If you love pirates, dragons and mages, and taking flight on dragon back with the wind in your hair and adrenaline rushing through your veins, you’ll enjoy Anakisha’s Dragon.

Sounds great! What about some tea?

I write in New Zealand in a sunny little office with windows on 3 sides. However, on a cold blustery day, there’s nothing I love more than wild berry tea. My Riders of Fire are partial to sipping soppleberry tea when they need a quiet, reflective moment. In Dragon Rift, Riders of Fire book 3, Ezaara’s quick wits and Roberto’s love of soppleberry tea help save their lives.

Check out the book and follow Eileen on:

Website * FB Reader’s group * Bookbub * Instagram