Category Archives: Spill the Tea

Helen Scheuerer spills the tea on A Lair of Bones

Today I’ve got some fun book news to share with you, as Helen Scheuerer stops by to spill the tea on her new fantasy release, A Lair of Bones.

Ok, Helen spill it!

It’s been two years since my first series, The Oremere Chronicles wrapped up and so I’m over the moon to at last share the first book in a brand new adventure, A Lair of Bones (July 15th, 2021). This YA fantasy follows the story of Roh, a young cyren of the deep whose ambition knows no bounds. From the moment she was born, Roh, the daughter of an infamous criminal, has been despised by her own kind. Restricted to the Lower Sector and forced to work as a common bone cleaner, she has always believed she belongs above: where lies adventure… and power.

Opportunity arises in the form of the Queen’s Tournament, a treacherous set of trials that could see the victor crowned ruler of the entire lair. Cunning, chaos and magic ensue and Roh is thrown into a dangerous world she hardly recognises.

If you like morally grey heroines, action-packed plots and a cast of unruly characters, then A Lair of Bones is for you.

How about some tea?

I love an English breakfast tea first thing in the morning, and a peppermint tea after lunch. There’s definitely a scene with tea featured in A Lair of Bones… I’m pretty sure the main character has a cup of peppermint tea to calm down after a traumatic event…

Check out the author and book on…

Website * Instagram * Facebook * Twitter

E.J. Kitchens Spills the Tea on The King’s Spell

Today I’ve got some fun book news to share with you, as E.J. Kitchens stops by to spill the tea on her new fantasy release, The King’s Spell.

Ok, E.J., spill it!

Magic, mystery, manners, and mischief–I love a good combination of these and so put all of them into my new release, The King’s Spell. It’s a “Jane Austen romance meets fantasy adventure” story with a cursed half-magic and a mischievous enchantress who must work together to save king and kingdom.

How about some tea?

A friend gave me tea from Norway–it is beautiful (with dried blue, red, and yellow flowers) and smells amazing, and tastes good! There are several important scenes with tea. Meredith does get to taste chai tea before disaster strikes one tea party.

Check out the book, and follow E.J. Kitchens on:

Website * Instagram * Facebook

J.D.L. Rosell spills the tea on The Throne of Ice and Ash

Today I’ve got some fun book news to share with you, as J.D.L. Rosell stops by to spill the tea on his new fantasy release, The Throne of Ice and Ash, book one in The Runewar Saga.

Ok, J.D.L, spill it!

Hey folks! I have a new first book in a series out today — which is actually a heavily revised version of the first novel I ever wrote! The Throne of Ice and Ash is an epic fantasy with a lot my favorite things from the genre: big military conflicts, tons of political intrigue, and huge character trauma and growth. It’s inspired by Norse mythology and may, with some accuracy, be considered “Game of Thrones between Vikings and Egyptians.” This book begins my grandest epic to date, and I hope you’ll join me in beginning the journey!

How about some tea?

“Tea? What’s tea? Pass the ale or mead!” – probably one of the characters in Throne

Check out the book, and follow J.D.L. on:

Website * Instagram * Facebook

Mikhaeyla Kopievsky spills the tea on the Divided Elements series

Today I’ve got some fun book news to share with you, as Mikhaeyla Kopievsky stops by to spill the tea on her speculative fiction series price drop on Resistance, and Rebellion, books 1 and 2 in the Divided Elements series.

OK Mikhaeyla, spill it!

With the anticipated release of the third and final book in my dystopian Divided Elements series (coming in July and now available to pre-order), I’ve dropped the price of the first two books in the series to just $2.99. You can also read the origin novella for free with your Kindle Unlimited account or by signing up for my newsletter here. The Divided Elements books will appeal to readers of Divergent, Brave New World, Red Rising, Fahrenheit 451, and We.

Set in a future, dystopian Paris where the population is divided and aligned to four neural-social classes, the story follows Anaiya – a Peacekeeper who is realigned and sent to infiltrate a growing rebellion that threatens the city’s golden age. But as she gets closer to fulfilling her mission, her loyalties are tested by the growing connections she forms with the core resistance movement and the fractures appearing in her mind…

How about some tea?

In the world of Divided Elements, there is nothing organic–everything is synthetic and engineered for maximum efficiency. That doesn’t mean, however, the citizens aren’t enjoying themselves. This world is a golden age of entertainment and excess, full of digital distractions and synth indulgences. Anaiya and her fellow Peacekeepers are notorious for hitting up the izakayas at the end of a shift – if Long Island Iced Teas were around, I’m sure they would be a favourite!

Check out the books, and follow Mikhaeyla on:

Website * Twitter * Instagram * Facebook

Eileen Mueller spills the tea on Anakisha’s Dragon

Today I have some fun book news for you, as Eileen Mueller stops by to spill the tea on her new fantasy release, Anakisha’s Dragon, book one in the Riders of Fire Dragon Masters series.

OK Eileen, spill it!

My fans loved my award-winning, bestselling Riders of Fire series so much that they begged me for more adventures in Dragons’ Realm.

Anakisha’s Dragon is the first book in my Riders of Fire Dragon Masters series. I’m taking my readers back in time so they can see how Commander Zens, the power-hungry geneticist who created an army of monstrous tharuks, came through the world gate to Dragons’ Realm.

We’ll uncover the secrets of many familiar characters — Dragon Mage Giddi, Spymaster Tonio, Healer Marlies and Hans, the rider of the bronze dragon, Handel. You’ll also witness the rise of the Scarlet Hand, a notorious pirate who rules the Naobian Sea.

If you love pirates, dragons and mages, and taking flight on dragon back with the wind in your hair and adrenaline rushing through your veins, you’ll enjoy Anakisha’s Dragon.

Sounds great! What about some tea?

I write in New Zealand in a sunny little office with windows on 3 sides. However, on a cold blustery day, there’s nothing I love more than wild berry tea. My Riders of Fire are partial to sipping soppleberry tea when they need a quiet, reflective moment. In Dragon Rift, Riders of Fire book 3, Ezaara’s quick wits and Roberto’s love of soppleberry tea help save their lives.

Check out the book and follow Eileen on:

Website * FB Reader’s group * Bookbub * Instagram

Sarah Ashwood spills the tea on Repairer of the Breach

Today I’ve got some fun book news to share with you, as Sarah Ashwood stops by to spill the tea on her new fantasy release, Repairer of the Breach.

OK Sarah, spill it!

Repairer of the Breach is the fourth and final installment of my Stones of Fire urban fantasy series. It’s the culmination of a story centering around Ellie, an unsuspecting nursing student pulled into the violent, mysterious world of shapeshifters, and Carter, the lethal shifter ordered to keep her alive.


How about some tea?

One scene in Repairer of the Breach has Ellie drinking a sleepy-time lavender and chamomile tea to help her relax.

Check out the book and follow Sarah on

Website * Twitter * Instagram * Facebook

C.J. Brightley spills the tea on Pangur Bán, The White Cat

Today I’ve got some fun book news to share with you, as C.J. Brightley from Spring Song Press stops by to spill the tea on their new children’s fantasy preorder, Pangur Bán, The White Cat, by Fay Sampson.

OK, C.J., spill it!

I’m thrilled to announce that Pangur Bán, The White Cat by Fay Sampson is up for pre-order! It will be released March 16. I discovered this book as a child in the late ’80s, and it filled my imagination with fear and wonder. Like the Chronicles of Narnia, it is a Christian allegory with depth and passion, but it seemed to me to be a little wilder and more frightening, but no less true. Set in medieval Ireland, Pangur Bán, The White Cat is a little less familiar and comforting than Narnia. It is one of the main reasons I love Ireland, mythology, and children’s fantasy today, and it’s a perfect example of C.S. Lewis’ statement that “someday you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again” – because it is a fairytale, with no wasted wordiness that adults might tolerate but children will not, and depth to satisfy all ages. I was delighted when I was able to get in touch with Fay and eventually work out a contract to bring this wonderful book back into print, and into ebook form for the first time. I would be honored if you would check out the book and perhaps help spread the word.


Check out the book and follow Spring Song Press on:

Website * Instagram * Facebook

Angelina J. Steffort spills the tea on Shadow Rule

Today I’ve got some fun book news to share with you, as Angelina J. Steffort stops by to spill the tea on her new fantasy release, Shadow Rule (Shattered Kingdom Book 3).

OK Angelina, spill it!

Shadow Rule is the third book in my young adult fantasy series, Shattered Kingdom. The book is the continuation of Gandrett Brayton’s story as the former Child of Vala enters the dormant Fae forests of Ulfray to lift the curse. Of course, like all my books, it has a romantic subplot that might be heart wrenching.


How about some tea?

In the southernmost territory of Neredyn, tea is an innate part of culture. Prince Taghi of Phornes has been sighted in Shadow Rule, drinking tea :)

Follow Angelina and find out more about the book here:

Website * Twitter * Instagram * Facebook

Trisha Leigh Shufelt spills the tea on Thorn Apple

Today I have some fun book news for you, as Trisha Leigh Shufelt stops by to spill the tea on her new fantasy release, Thorn Apple, book 2 in the Underwood Series.

OK, Trisha, spill it!

I’m excited to share that I’ve just released Thorn Apple, book two in the Underwood Series. Thorn Apple sees Lilly, Queen of Elysia, plagued by horrific nightmares and visions. Meanwhile, a nefarious plot unfolds behind the scenes to strip her power and rebirth a monstrous evil back into the Realm of the Fae. With her grip on reality fading, Lilly must face her deepest fears and the evil she thought she had destroyed long ago.

What about some tea?

I mention Earl Grey tea in my first book Underwood and chamomile and lavender tea in my book, the Promise. Chamomile and lavender is my favorite blend and I drink a cup every night to help me drift off to sleep. Avid tea drinker.

Check out the book and follow Trisha on:

Website * Facebook * Instagram

Bill Olson spills the tea on “The Keep”

Welcome to my new blog series, Spill the Tea, all about fantasy, sci-fi, and speculative fiction book news.

Today I’ve got some fun book news to share with you, as Bill Olson stops by to spill the tea on his new fantasy release, The Keep.

OK Bill, spill it!

My professional introduction to the arts was through performing, as an actor, a puppeteer, and a juggler. I got back into writing after a long hiatus and The Keep is my first novel. It’s exciting to have it out in the world, and to find out what people think of it. Meanwhile, I am in the midst of juggling a lot of different projects right now. I want to keep exploring The Covenant Cycle, my stories about gods and mortals, get a sequel to The Keep going, finish a couple of other novels . . . You know, the typical to do list.

How about some tea?

I really enjoy Vanilla Tea (Bigelow’s Frech Vanilla to be exact). A scene in my novel is about making willow bark tea!

Check out the book, and follow Bill on:

Website * Twitter * Instagram * Facebook


Have some book news of your own to share? Apply here.